Make Home Exercise Easy!

 

person in black leggings and red sneakers standing on black floor
Photo by Polina Tankilevitch on Pexels.com

We want to help this transition of having a few weeks stuck at home a little more productive and less “out of routine”.  I know that I am going to physically, emotionally and mentally feel the effects of not having my daily gym time.  I know for a fact that home workouts take a whole new level of motivation and dedication than getting up and going to the gym.  There are so many distractions and easy outs when trying to get a sweat on at home.  I was able to fit in a good 20 minutes strength training workout at home and I had to leave for work saying to myself that this is much better than nothing.

Set yourself up for success:

If you don’t currently have some at home basic workout equipment then it is time to start thinking about building up this arsenal.  Most of this equpiment can be stored in a corner and usually don;t cost a fortune.  You don’t need a Peloton to be healthy.

Here are some basic gym equipment that doesn’t take up too much space at home:

  • Dumb bells: 5 to 15# weights
  • Resistance bands
  • Bosu Ball
  • Sand Bag
  • Yoga Mat
  • Equalizer ball
  • Kettle bell
  • Foam roller

Bike trainer:

You can use a bike trainer if you own a road bike at home.  You can set up your road bike on this and it helps you bike inside during the winter without having to buy a stationary bike. You can google bike trainers on amazon.

Bike trainer

Here is a youtube video on how to you a sand bag

Go Outside!

In this great state of Colorado we have the most versatile natural gym at our disposal.  Go for a great hike or a run around a park.  Just remember that sunshine gives you Vitamin D which helps fight illness.

I personally did a trail run at Mount Falcon over the weekend and it was wonderful.  I saw a good number of families with their kids (keeping a safe distance from others) having a great time outside.

Here is a list of some beginner/easy hikes in colorado

https://www.thedenverchannel.com/lifestyle/discover-colorado/7-great-beginner-hikes-near-denver

Use Free Resources:

There are so many websites and apps that are available to you to get someone to tell you what to do during your workout even if you are at the gym but especially when you are at home.

Youtube:

Yoga with Adriene is my favorite Youtube channel and it is completely free.  I can roll out of my bed in my PJS and do 20 minutes of yoga with no hassle.

https://www.youtube.com/user/yogawithadriene

 

Nike Training Club App:

I personally use this app three times a week.  There is a premium membership but there are a ton of videos for free.  I use this for an hour long endurance training down to a 10 minute ab workout.  I love this app because it is easy to use, well put together.  The exercises even tell you what type of equipment you need.  The great thing is that plenty of the workouts don’t require any equipment at all.

https://www.nike.com/ntc-app

Websites:

I personally love the website fitness blender for website workouts.  You can choose your intensity, type of workout duration and equipment and it spits out videos that fit those parameters.  These are absolutely free and easy to use.

http://www.fitnessblender.com

https://www.fitnessblender.com/videos/at-home-bodyweight-cardio-interval-workout-sweat-like-you-mean-it

I hope you can utilize some of these resources over the next few weeks. Just remember that every minute of movement counts.